What is blogging about? What is it about FOR YOU?

A Journey over a Decade:

I’ve been in the social media and web 2.0 space for a long time. I’ve been soaking it up, digging in (no pun intended), and communicating brazenly since about day 1. I’ve been communicating on message boards since about 1998 and signed up for my first social network College Club in the Fall of 1999. I’ve been doing this thing for pretty much a decade. Being an early adopter of tech seems like part of my DNA. My parents raised me to try new things–to explore–to branch out and be creative…

So what is blogging about? What is social networking about? To me, its about making digital communication with a human face.

Its about personalizing and humanizing organizations, brands, and companies. Its about adding a human touch. So, its not just you on hold. There is a REAL human on the other end….The genuine artifact. Living and breathing. Human.

At its very core–its humans connecting to other humans.

So as I see it, organizations are faced with a dilema that will likely determine their future success and customer relations from this day forward: continue to be corporate–continue the one way conversation or to turn their backs on the old days of websites from 1997 and participate in the ongoing conversation, and invite and encourage their customers to do the same. As my friend Bill Seaver might say, “Stop trying to push 8-tracks in an iPod world” No other decision will determine the future of their consumer relations in the next decade.

So, what I want to know, is what does it mean to you? Why are you blogging? Why aren’t you blogging? If you are involved, how do you like participating in the conversation?

3 responses to “What is blogging about? What is it about FOR YOU?

  1. Blogging is my sole intentional marketing outlet. It works because it lets people determine for themselves whether they agree with me and my approach before they ever talk to me. In many cases I also find it “seals the deal” after I talk to a potential client a time or two.

  2. This really isn’t the right place for this comment, I realize, but I wasn’t sure where else to put it.

    I just wanted to thank you so much for putting me in your list of helpful resources. It means a lot to me that you like the blog, and I sincerely look forward to reading your comments soon. Join the discussion! From the looks of this post there seems to be quite a lot going on inside that head of yours — of 24 heads, whatever the case may be.

    Take care, and thank you again!

  3. I randomly found you through your MyBlogLog community.

    Thanks a bunch Whitney! I really loved your set up and your fun taxonomy–and was duly impressed. I can’t wait to read more…

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

